Salad Sundays

IMG_1719

Hello blogging world! First post, yeah! And it’s not even a real recipe, which is totally lame. But it’s still an idea worth sharing. (:

I have always had a problem figuring out what to eat for lunch. When cooking for myself, I would often turn to leftovers from dinner the day before. But now, I have this thing called a Husband, which I’ve decided is code for “eats all the food”. This has resulted in very few dinners leftover. And while it is oh so tempting to walk down our street and choose from all of the delicious options for lunch, doing this all the time is neither healthy or financially possible for us right now. So I’ve had to start planning ahead. Which brings us to Salad Sundays! 

Here's me with a knife

Ready to chop

Every Sunday, or other free day, take the time to chop a bunch veggies and prepare your salad goodies. Then, store them all in airtight containers in the fridge. When it’s time to make a salad, you just need to throw a handful of each ingredient in a bowl and add dressing! Or you could easily stack the ingredients in mason jars to bring to work or school. Not only does this save time, but it also results in less dirty dishes! (YAY!)

All chopped and cozy!

All chopped and cozy!

I’ve listed the ingredients I used for my salads this week, but you should definitely personalize them to suit your tastes.

Ingredients

4 Roma tomatos

1/2 of a red onion

6 eggs

1 can white beans

1 bag salad greens

1 container garlic & herb feta

Instructions

1. Boil the eggs according to your favorite method. When finished, place hard boiled eggs in bowl filled with ice water. When they are cool enough to handle, peel off the shells.

2. Chop the tomatoes and red onions into small bite sized pieces. I won’t judge you if you eat a few tomato chunks straight from the cutting board.

3. Drain and rinse the beans.

4. Place the separate ingredients in airtight containers and store in fridge for up to one week.

5. When ready to eat, add the salad ingredients to a bowl and top with your favorite dressing and a dash of pepper.

Yum!

Yum!

How easy is that? I assembled my salad in less time than it takes me to dial up my favorite take out place. Tasty and fresh food is definitely worth a little planning ahead. I hope this time saving tip allows you to enjoy your favorite salads all week long!

Leave a Reply

